Finding the Time & Money

Over the years I have been asked countless times how I find the time to fit everything in. The reality is, my schedule is insane on a good day. Between a very full-time corporate career, modeling, part-time post grad studies, a committee and board member with a variety of organizations, an avid runner and fitness enthusiast, time with friends and family… and lets not forget the home renovation projects I do in ALL my spare time!

Since I started blogging I have received this inquiry more and more, “When do you find the time to do all this?!” The honest answer, I make time for the things I love, that I am passionate for and bring me happiness. I have a passion for home renovations and redecorating. I find planning, painting and reorganizing a room from start to finish to be extremely rewarding and in many ways relaxing. It is an outlet for creativity and allows me to express myself, I can become completely lost in a project. There is nothing more enjoyable than turning up the music with a glass of wine and a paint brush in my hand, now that is MY bliss. It is my alone time where I let my mind wander. I usually paint alone, not that I have to but because I choose to. My husband would help me in a heartbeat if I asked him, but he knows how much I enjoy my projects… and how “slightly” particular I am! He wouldn’t want to lose one of his extremities now would he?!DSC_8073 😉

After I explain my passion for the things I love, I will sometimes receive the comment, “Well, you don’t have a family yet, just wait you will have NO time!” My response that comment is this, “You are correct, I may not have a family right now but I cannot see that completely eliminating my passions.” I continue to explain that I grew up with a mother that was nothing short of Super-Mom. My mother did everything from holding a very demanding but successful career, full-time taxi driver, my number 1 fan during countless years of competitive sports and dance competitions, always had a delicious dinner on the table, laundry done, lunches made, school work checked, etc etc etc. With everything she did, somehow she still remained cheerful and managed to take time for herself, whether she took our dog for a walk or her hour of quiet time in the early hours of the morning. She is nothing short of absolutely incredible and someone I look up to very much… my hero!581634_10151186971288606_1652863980_n

Ok, ok… I have explained my passions, my hero, what next? Well, the final comment I receive more often than not is about money. How do you afford to do all these home renovations at such a young age? Well, if you look at the projects we do they are often more time-consuming than costly. I can tell you a can of paint and a brush are not expensive but the results in a room are dramatic. If the project is more than just paint, it is about proper planning and research. Before my husband and I do anything major, we thoroughly research the potential costs of the project, what could go wrong and how much it would cost to fix a problem. If you properly educate yourself on the scope of a project and take time to do some price shopping, you will come out on the winning end.

Home renovations are important to us, which mean sacrifices in other areas of our lives. Do I love to shop? Of course. Do I love to travel? Absolutely. Do I want a new car? In a heartbeat. But, we are willing to sacrifice materialist items and needless spending to enjoy our passion of home renovations. Everything you want in life will come with time, as long as you are patient but focused and willing to give up some luxuries. We have a plan, we have goals but most of all, we are willing to work with a situation if something changes. I have a husband that is level-headed and realistic, yet extremely hardworking and determined. It is a team effort!

signature

One thought on “Finding the Time & Money

  1. I’ve been surfing on-line more than three hours these days, but I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. Itˇ¦s beautiful value enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the internet will probably be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

