Healthy Life| Keep your cravings in control!

Over the years, people have come to learn of my healthy active lifestyle. Many will ask me for advice. I am not a trainer or a nutritionist, what I share on my blog is what has worked well for me over the years. What may work for me may not work for you, so if you have any health concerns please consult your doctor. d314341f0656b18adadac565897c909f

I am religious about maintaining a healthier diet and regular physical exercise. I have never been someone who drinks pop, eat chips or fast food nor excessively drinks. You may be thinking… “Oh ya right, perfect diet eh?!” Not exactly. My major weakness is sweets. I have a sweet tooth beyond what is normal or healthy. I have been known to eat an entire box of PC Chocolate Cookies myself (don’t add up the calories or fat! Your assumption is less, trust me!), eat Nutella straight from the jar with a spoon, have a stash of sweets in my office and never pass up an offer for dessert. When people bring treats into the office, I find it frustrating because it is extremely difficult for me to say no. I have very little (if any) self control when it comes to sweets.

Growing up, every single night my mom served dessert after dinner. Now, as a young adult I find myself looking for dessert after a meal. I have learned if I skip sweets or dessert for an extended period of time I will binge. Depriving myself completely of my only true dietary weakness results in me consuming more when I do finally cave.  bdcb5acc874bcd21f5d9e1f5de403e58

I realized I had to address this in some way. After a significant amount of research I determined the best option for me. For the last 2 years now, I eat 3 small squares of dark chocolate after every dinner. It is typically the last solid food I eat before bed. I ensure the dark chocolate is at least 70% Cocoa, occasionally going with 85% Cocoa. It is sweet enough to provide me the “fix” my brain is looking for without the excessive amount of fat and calories in milk chocolate. Dark chocolate has significantly more iron than most chocolate, which is essential in maintaining good health for an active female. If you complete an intense workout more than 2 or 3 times a week, watch your iron levels as they could be low. Low iron levels lead to mental and physical lack of energy.

I still treat myself occasionally to other sweets but definitely try to control the portion I consume. This approach is more in line with my overall diet, which consist of small frequent meals throughout the day.

marissa7

Leave a Reply

