Stairway to Heaven?!

My stair project has felt like a lifetime to complete, officially lasting 2 months… unreal! Every time I worked on them I thought of the early 70’s Led Zeppelin song, Stairway to Heaven, a song/project that never seemed to end.

The stairs are finally done. I am thrilled with the results!

A reminder of the before…

Kitchener-20130831-00627

And now the after! (Excuse the shine from the flash and light!)

Kitchener-20131031-00902

Since the weather has been so terrible, I haven’t had a chance to take a photo that really does the stairs justice.

As mentioned in a previous post, I used an eco friendly paint and stain stripper. The process took significantly longer, but it did not smell. That extremely toxic smell wasn’t something I was interested in exposing my husband or dog to.

This set of stairs lead to our bedrooms and are a “main artery” of our home. There is no other way to get to our top floor, meaning my project needed to be done in steps. (Excuse the pun!)

After finally taking the stair and riser to the raw wood, I sanded each by hand.

Kitchener-20131020-00864

If you are looking to stain your step but paint the riser, you need to do your staining first. I used the same colour as the first set I did leading from the foyer to the main level. The type of wood that make up the stairs is different than the flooring and therefore, would not stain the same. I went dark to do a complete contrast but complimentary, the colour matches a lot of our furniture.

I am a huge fan of gel stains, as they are easier to work with and more forgiving. All you need is an old cloth and rubber gloves and you are ready to go!

Kitchener-20131020-00866

Kitchener-20131020-00867

I needed to do every other stair so we could still use the staircase on a daily basis.

Kitchener-20131020-00872

The finished product turned out great! I did a few coats of sealer to ensure the stain is protected. The shine does go down after about a month. Last thing to do… the railing! ๐Ÿ™‚

Kitchener-20131027-00895

marissa7

Leave a Reply

