Are you in Control or a Hot Mess?!

There are days when I feel like my life is a bloody disaster and I couldn’t get it together if I tried! On the rare occasion, I do feel organized and in control of my world. What makes me feel “in control” are completely trivial and I realize how ridiculous they are!

nail design  Nails!!! Very rarely will my nails ever be perfectly manicured or look remotely close to this! Confession: I am a nail bitter. It is a horrible nervous/bored habit I have tried to kick for years. I see photos on Pinterest all the time of nails that look so fantastic. If I get the time to paint my nails or go to a salon to have them done, I feel like I walk around thinking “Girl! You got it together here! Whoa!!” I can assure you, that thought is a distant cousin to my daily routine!

 

perfect outfit Sex and The City Outfit is picked out the night before! The dreaded, “What do I wear today?” question. It happens every morning. Every morning, I think how I should get my butt in gear and do this the night before. How nice would it be to have all items properly ironed or steamed, with matching jewelry and shoes, just sitting there for me to put on? Similar to Carrie’s closet in Sex and The City, where you would see her perfectly put together outfit hanging for the next day while she writes in her journal. This is a total pipe dream for me, but if it does happens I feel like a superstar!! Did I mention this never happens?! lol

ac6fb9ae9992a00e18220f39d19eb6e3 Meal Prep in Advance! Do people actually do this!? Pinterest strikes again, creating unrealistic ideas that busy families have time to plan a whole weeks  worth of dinners. To top it all off, having the meal plan displayed in the kitchen with perfectly spaced card labels and neatly written descriptions. Hey, maybe it is just me, but I feel this is a fantasy world. With all that said, if I have an idea what we are going to have for dinner for the next day or two, I feel like the best wife ever! Unfortunately, the reality is my husband and I come home from a long day and try to get the other person to think of and cook the meal.

 

Doutzen-Kroes-Victoria’s-Secret-Sport2 Gym Outfits! If I can put together clean gym clothes that don’t completely clash, I consider that a win. Being an avid gym member who attends on a regular basis, I envy women who can put together an outfit straight out of a magazine. To top it all off, a matching towel! Shut the front door!! Yes folks, I actually see this at the gym and think, “Marissa, you should really care more! That girl looks like she is rockin’ the gym life!” The reality is I will never look like this at the gym but a girl can dream, right? For now, I will continue to try and purchase similar colours for my gym wear to give the illusion they intentionally match! 😉

What do you do to feel in control?!

marissa7

Leave a Reply

