Insightful Monday Week 57

Can we all give three cheers for life being insane?! Holy Hannah… the days are getting away from me faster than I would ever want to admit.

Yesterday in Canada (sounds like the start of a bad joke…) was a holiday, reason for the Insighful Monday being delayed.

After getting up very early to catch the train to go downtown for work, I am finally getting a chance to sit down and breathe (a mere 9 hours later). I am sitting in a coffee shop on a corner of a very busy city intersection, there are people literally running as fast as they can to their next destination. Two women are sitting beside me, one is extremely frustrated with her boyfriend and his lacking romantic efforts. To the other side of me, there is a man and a woman who (from what I rather) work together. The man is explaining how the new young professional in the office expects the world, yet isn’t willing to work for it. Both, an example of the expectations they have for others.

I am first to admit, I have high expectations of myself and those around me. Luckily, I surround myself with some pretty incredible people who have natural drive and determination. It is refreshing.

Yet, at the end of the day, I am still my biggest critic. In recent years, I have provided myself a little more self compassion than I have in the past, it is refreshing. Expectations, whether they are your own or coming from someone else can be truly heartbreaking.

 

quote

marissa7

Leave a Reply

