Dinner @ the W’s| Meatloaf

Over the last two years, I have made a dedicated effort to learn how to cook. In our wedding speech, I promised Ryan I would at least improve in this area, so I had to make an effort if I was making that vow in front of all those people.

I knew Ryan wanted me to improve my cooking skills, not to “take over” that domestic duty but to at least end up with a fair split in the end.

I have had a number of failed attempts over the last 2 years, but a considerable amount of success as well in the cooking department.

We are a busy couple, always having several obligations on the go at any given time. Dinner can be a challenge. We do not enjoy fastfood, we prefer healthy home cooked meals, however we don’t have much time to make them. There are a few recipes that have been an overwhelming success and are now part of our dinner menu options!

I found this meatloaf recipe online and decided to give it a shot. I have always enjoyed meatloaf and it makes a fantastic leftover option. I typically prepare the dish the night before, so when I come home from work all I have to do it pop it in the oven! It makes dinner time straight forward and less chaotic.

I encourage you to give it a try and let me know what you think! Happy cooking 🙂

e47c7896cdaa34398c9c1a0544c5d6a7Ingredients

1 1/2 pounds of Lean Ground Beef (1 standard package)

1 large onion, chopped

6 slices of bread, cut into cubes

1 egg

1/2 cup of milk

3 tbsp yellow mustard

1/2 cup ketchup

3 tbsp brown sugar

salt, pepper & garlic powder to taste

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

2.  In a large bowl, thoroughly mix ground beef, onion, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Mix in bread, milk egg, 2 tablespoon mustard and 1/4 cup ketchup.

3. Press the meat mixture into a 9×5 in loaf pan. In a small bowl, stire together remaining mustard, ketchup and brown sugar; pour on top of the meat loaf.

4. Bake in preheated oven for 2 hours.

marissa7

Leave a Reply

